Nelson City Council, Councillors 1897

Production date
Photo collection reference number
See full details

Object Detail

Copy of a montage of 10 head and shoulders portraits of members of the Nelson City Council, as follows: E Everett, J Harley, W Akersten, J Piper, F Trask (Mayor), G Rout, C Harley, H Baigent, W Lock, B Moller.
Object type
Media/materials description
Glass plate.
8 x 10 inches

Collection type




Edward Henry Everett (1820-1904) - top far left photo.

- Jenifer Lemaire

Posted on 18-06-2015 10:03:43

George Malcolm Rout (1863-1928) is on the far right of the middle row. He was born in Nelson and is a son of William Rout Snr. In addition to being a City Councillor, George was a land agent (W. Rout & Sons), Chairman of the Nelson Hospital Board, and a J.P for 30 years.

- Pip McAlwee

Posted on 11-03-2015 02:24:58

Edward Henry Everett (1820-1904). Born Hackney London 1820. Died Nelson 24 December 1904. Edward Everett was Nelson's 3rd Mayor. He was elected unopposed on 16 June 1876. He resigned 1 September 1877 in order to travel to England. On 22 November 1881 the sitting Mayor of Nelson - Joseph Dodson - retired. Edward Everett was elected Mayor for a 2nd time. He remained Mayor until 1882.

- Jenifer Lemaire

Posted on 08-12-2014 08:36:23