Tasman Rugby Union

Date of birth
Dec 2005
Place Of birth
From Tasman Rugby Union https://www.tasmanrugby.co.nz/about-tru/union-history:

The Tasman Rugby Union was formed in December 2005 as an amalgamation of the Nelson Bays and Marlborough Rugby Unions, thereby becoming New Zealand’s newest provincial union.

The newly formed Union assumed responsibility for the delivery and administration of grass roots rugby at junior level schools & clubs and senior clubs across the top of the South Island (Te Tau Ihu) from the Marlborough and Nelson Bays Rugby Unions.

The Marlborough Union had been founded in 1888. Known as the “Red Devils”, Marlborough rugby has a proud heritage including holding the storied Ranfurly Shield for six defences in 1973-4.

The Nelson Bays Union aka “the Griffins” was founded in 1968, itself an amalgamation of the Nelson and Golden Bays-Motueka Rugby Unions. Nelson had been founded in 1885 (becoming the nation’s sixth provincial union) and Golden Bays-Motueka in 1920.

Nelson is The Home of Rugby in New Zealand, being where the first ever competitive rugby match took place in May 1870 at The Botanics between a Nelson College side and Nelson Football Club.


Made by this person